Bruce in his Highland dancing regalia at his son and daughter-in-law's wedding, August, 2016. (Image: A dark-haired, white-bearded man in a blue plaid kilt, cream-coloured shirt and stockings standing casually while smiling warmly.)

Bruce in his Highland dancing regalia at his son and daughter-in-law's wedding, August, 2016. (Image: A dark-haired, white-bearded man in a blue plaid kilt, cream-coloured shirt and stockings standing casually while smiling warmly.)

(Image: Black and white cover of Two O'clock Creek. A frozen mountain waterfall with evergreen trees in the fore and background with the book title across the top.)

(Image: Black and white cover of Two O'clock Creek. A frozen mountain waterfall with evergreen trees in the fore and background with the book title across the top.)

Born 1952 in Calgary, Alberta, Bruce is the author of five books of poetry, a collection of short stories and a novel.

Two O'Clock Creek - Poems New and Selected (2010) won the Acorn-Plantos Peoples' Poetry Award. The award is given to a volume of poetry that is accessible to all people in its use of  language and image in the tradition of Milton Acorn, Dorothy Livesay, Ted Plantos and Al Purdy.

(Image: Burgundy cover of In The Bear's House with a small photograph of sandstone cave entrance.)

(Image: Burgundy cover of In The Bear's House with a small photograph of sandstone cave entrance.)

In the Bear’s House (2009), a novel, won the Canadian Rockies prize selected from over 100 books from 10 countries at the Banff Mountain Book Festival.

Coming Home From Home (2000), his third poetry collection, was short-listed for the 1997 CBC/Saturday Night literary competition.

Country Music Country (1996), his linked story collection, was broadcast on CBC Radio on “Between the Covers” in 1999, 2000. Wayson Choy said in Saturday Night: “Bruce Hunter writes with bold restraint and a poet’s sensibility. His blue collar characters walk the tight line of their lives into the common universe that includes us all.”

Order Books

Bruce's two most recent books, Two O'clock Creek and In the Bear's House, are available by order through your independent bookseller or retailers like Amazon or through Chapters/Indigo.  If you have difficulty obtaining them, please contact Oolichan Books at oolichan.com

His earlier books are now out of print but are available at a reasonable cost through rare book dealers such Abebooks.