Bruce in his Highland dancing regalia at his son and daughter-in-law's wedding, August, 2016. (Image: A dark-haired, white-bearded man in a blue plaid kilt, cream-coloured shirt and stockings standing casually while smiling warmly).

Bruce in his Highland dancing regalia at his son and daughter-in-law's wedding, August, 2016. (Image: A dark-haired, white-bearded man in a blue plaid kilt, cream-coloured shirt and stockings standing casually while smiling warmly).

Born 1952 in Calgary, Alberta, Bruce is the author of five books of poetry, a collection of short stories and a novel.

Bruce's two most recent books, Two O'clock Creek and In the Bear's House, are available by order through your independent bookseller or retailers like Amazon or through Chapters/Indigo.

His earlier books are now out of print but are available at a reasonable cost through rare book dealers such Abebooks.

 


(Image: Cover of Two O'clock Creek. A frozen mountain waterfall with evergreen trees in the fore and background with the book title across the top).

(Image: Cover of Two O'clock Creek. A frozen mountain waterfall with evergreen trees in the fore and background with the book title across the top).

Two O'Clock Creek - Poems New and Selected (2010) won the Acorn-Plantos Peoples' Poetry Award. The award is given to a volume of poetry that is accessible to all people in its use of  language and image in the tradition of Milton Acorn, Dorothy Livesay, Ted Plantos and Al Purdy.

Image: Country Music Country book cover placeholder image.

Image: Country Music Country book cover placeholder image.

Country Music Country (1996), his linked story collection, was broadcast on CBC Radio on “Between the Covers” in 1999, 2000. Wayson Choy said in Saturday Night: “Bruce Hunter writes with bold restraint and a poet’s sensibility. His blue collar characters walk the tight line of their lives into the common universe that includes us all.”

(Image: Cover of In The Bear's House. Write the remainder of the description for this book cover here.)

(Image: Cover of In The Bear's House. Write the remainder of the description for this book cover here.)

In the Bear’s House (2009), a novel, won the Canadian Rockies prize selected from over 100 books from 10 countries at the Banff Mountain Book Festival.

(Image: Cover of Coming Home from Home. Write the remainder of the description for this book cover here.)

(Image: Cover of Coming Home from Home. Write the remainder of the description for this book cover here.)

Coming Home From Home (2000), his third poetry collection, was short-listed for the 1997 CBC/Saturday Night literary competition.

 
Image: Beekeeper's Daughter book cover placeholder image.

Image: Beekeeper's Daughter book cover placeholder image.

Write the description text for Benchmark here. Write the description text for Benchmark here. Write the description text for Benchmark here. Write the description text for Benchmark here.Write the description text for Benchmark here.Write the description text for Benchmark here.

 

 

Image: Benchmark book cover placeholder image.

Image: Benchmark book cover placeholder image.

Write the description text for Beekeeper's Daughter here. Write the description text for Beekeeper's Daughter here. Write the description text for Beekeeper's Daughter here. Write the description text for Beekeeper's Daughter here.